Mother/Daughter project from the 1970’s

A happy memory that really stands out for me as a teen was a project that my mom and I worked on together. We decided to create a parade costume for my horse. That project expanded into 2 parade costumes and many, many nights of hard work. I loved riding with the costumes and the horse enjoyed it too. However, every year she had a young foal so you can see in these photos that she was often looking off in the distance, trying to get a glimpse of her baby. Now that I have horses again, I think about the possibility of making another costume and, perhaps, my daughter would like to be a part of that too.

Rialla and horse costume

Mare, Rialla wearing horse costume. Her foal Ray is behind her. Made by Kim Gullion Stewart and her mother.

Horse and rider in costume

Mare, Rialla and rider, Kim Gullion Stewart in Parade Class. Costume made by Kim Gullion Stewart and her mother.

Kim and Rialla with 1st costume

Kim Gullion Stewart and mare, Rialla with the first costume, 1970’s. Mare, Rialla and rider, Kim Gullion Stewart in Parade Class. Costume made by Kim Gullion Stewart and her mother.

Kim and Rialla in Parade with first costume

Kim Gullion Stewart and mare, Rialla riding in the Grande Prairie, Alberta parade in the 1970’s. Costume made by Kim Gullion Stewart and her mother.

About art4life

I have a visual art practice and (way too) many ideas, thoughts and opinions I want to share. Thanks for listening.
This entry was posted in my opinions and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Mother/Daughter project from the 1970’s

  1. Dawn says:

    I have an old photograph for you from my mom. I think it of Arco.

Leave a Reply

