Trickster

A page from my sketchbook reveals my facination with ravens

A page from my sketchbook reveals my facination with ravens

My history with corvids (crows, ravens, magpies) goes back a ways. When I was about 14 yrs old, I had my bedroom upstairs in an old farmhouse. There was a small window in a dormer and it lead right out onto the roof. My brother and I used to get onto the roof so we could see to the back of the property. On the prairies anything high will give you at least a 20-50km view. We weren’t the only ones who used this ‘perch’. A magpie discovered it while trying to amuse himself one day. He sat outside my window at about 4am and ‘sang’. It was summer and it was hot so I had my window open. His raspy voice sent me flying outta bed. I flung open the screen and started swinging at him with my arms. He hopped out of the way and looked at me with great amusement. “Ach, ach, ach”, he said and look for my response. I cussed him out with every word I knew and he responded, “Ach, ach, ach.” I finally had to crawl out and chase him off. He visited me at 4 am for the next 4 days and sang before he lost interest and looked for someone else to pester.

About art4life

I have a visual art practice and (way too) many ideas, thoughts and opinions I want to share. Thanks for listening.
This entry was posted in my art, remember when... and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Trickster

  1. Dawn says:

    The crows and magpies are something I distinctly remember from camping with our little group of people. It was 4 am then too, when the sun was coming up, sometimes only a couple hours after we fell asleep. We have ravens here and worry for our chickens. There is no evidence of them taking any yet.

  2. art4life says:

    4 am seems to be the common rising time for birds. There are 15 humming birds who visit my feeders outside my bedroom window every morning. Cute, but noisy!

Leave a Reply

