me, myself and I

6 drawings of Kim Stewart

I have been drawing a self portrait each day for 2 weeks. First thing after breakfast I would drag myself over to the mirror and try to capture what I saw. I discovered that mornings are not when I look my best as many of the drawings show a grumpy, puffy looking face peering back at me. It was an excellent exercise, kind of a ‘photo of the day’ thing. Anyway, I am sharing my favourites with you here. The full colour one is a digital drawing done in Illustrator based on a photograph of me. Everything else is drawn using some sort of pencil-like instrument.

About art4life

I have a visual art practice and (way too) many ideas, thoughts and opinions I want to share. Thanks for listening.
This entry was posted in my art and tagged , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to me, myself and I

  1. My favorite is the middle, second row drawing — a very incisive drawing and the intense gaze really engages the spectator. My second favorite is the ochre/orange one to its left. And they are very opposite in mood.
    How neat! Interesting departure on the “painting a day” thing.

  2. Dawn says:

    That’s a cool project. I don’t really have a favourite. I showed you the one self portrait I did. Every once in awhile I find it in all my stuff. I did pretty good, but my forehead was too narrow. My eyes were great. Of course, I probably took hours to do it, amateur that I am. I am curious to see what your next project is.

  3. Dawn says:

    That’s a cool project. I don’t really have a favourite. I showed you the one self portrait I did. Every once in awhile I find it in all my stuff. I did pretty good, but my forehead was too narrow. My eyes were great. Of course, I probably took hours to do it, amateur that I am. I am curious to see what your next project is.

  4. Sirdar says:

    I think the one that looks like you is the last one. It shows you smiling đŸ™‚

  5. art4life says:

    Thanks for your feedback everyone. I need encouragement to continue drawing everyday. Even though I love it so much, I often leave this activity until last in my day, then I don’t feel like it, lol!

Leave a Reply

