Blockhead

I finished my installation at the Two Rivers Gallery here in Prince George last week. The opening was Thursday night (Feb 28th). In all the installation took over 1700 wooden blocks, 3.5 inches square to complete a tower 6 feet wide and 8 feet tall. The Dad-guy, my son and I spend months making them. My daughter helped by counting. It was a family affair…or more like ‘forced family fun’; the Dad-guy commenting every night after work, “I don’t wanna cut anymore blocks.”

The opening went well with the curator commenting that the blocks seem to be attractive to kids. The gallery apparently had their first ‘kid’ episode that afternoon before the opening where some of the blocks were moved around by a person under the age of 18. Good thing I am not worried about viewer interaction. I think it helps validate the piece. I promise to post some shots of the work in the next 2 days. It has a message on it in binary code and I would like to see if anyone figures out what it is. I’ll let you in on that when I post the photos.

I really feel like I [suddenly] have a lot of time on my hands, so I am asking, ‘What’s next for Kim?’ I have my own ideas on that, but maybe you have a suggestion or opinion you want to share with me?

About art4life

I have a visual art practice and (way too) many ideas, thoughts and opinions I want to share. Thanks for listening.
This entry was posted in my art and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

4 Responses to Blockhead

  1. Dawn says:

    Glad you have more time. I know, I know, Kim could travel to far off lands of say, hmmm….Spruce Grove, Alberta, to visit dear friends;-).

  2. Kim S. says:

    Wouldn’t that be grand!

  3. Suzanne P says:

    You can visit with us at Purim, it’s been toooooo long ! 🙂

  4. art4life says:

    Looking forward to seeing you Suzanne. Dawn, I might be in Edmonton to visit my mom, and of course you! I’ll let you know.

Leave a Reply

