missing my man [or my man is missing.]

He left on Friday at 6:30am with 2 other guys, the snow roaring up behind the truck in an indignant cloud as they peeled out of our driveway. He has been planning this trip for months. He grew a beard, he shopped for pepperoni sticks, he organized his gear for 3 days straight. I watched him pack with nervous anticipation….

{It is winter here. The temperature averages between -9 and -18 celsius. This house is heated by a wood furnace. The wood furnace requires large amounts of wood because it is old; 25 years old. The wood must be hauled and split every day. We often get heavy snowfalls, so heavy that we cannot get out of our driveway. As you read in my previous posting, sometimes we are without power, phone, or water. In the spring, we flood. It is a gamble every time my man leaves. Sometimes nothing happens, sometimes it is like the apocalypse. Does he know how much he means to this home and this family? Not only is he my best friend and my only love, he is the glue that holds this place together.}

…I followed him down the stairs and gave him a hug and a kiss. Have a good time, I told him. Try not to worry about us, I say. He needs a break. He will come home refreshed. The kids and I will manage, we always do.

About art4life

I have a visual art practice and (way too) many ideas, thoughts and opinions I want to share. Thanks for listening.
This entry was posted in home life and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to missing my man [or my man is missing.]

  1. Sirdar says:

    This is really weird. I was sure I commented on this post yesterday…but it was only posted today. Time to go see a shrink…either that or I am psychic (psychotic?) or something…

    Seriously, I’ve read this before.

    I hope he has a great trip and hope that nothing bad happens when he is gone. You need to have a good experience once in a while…

  2. hiddenart says:

    I think I would love a day trapped in by snow and no way out. Then I would desperately miss my man too. I can relate. My man is glue as well. When he’s on the road, I often wonder how long we would survive without him. Not long, me thinks.
    Anyway, hoping that you do not have a tremendous blizzard while he is gone!
    amanda

  3. Dawn says:

    What a wonderful post. Very poetic. I hope he arrives home safely and soon. Keep the home fires burning and the front light on in anticipation of he return.

Leave a Reply

