The Path of Least Resistance

water_foot_hand.jpg

It is Sunday. A day of work for me. I keep Saturday as a day of rest (see commandment #4 in the 10 commandments). My whole family does, therefore Sunday becomes a day of work for us. Typically I spend Sundays planning the next week of teaching. I have 4 classes to plan for, 3 in New Media: Multimedia (2nd year course), Intro to the Web (1st year course), Illustration (1st year course), and 1 in Fine Art: First Nations Art and Technology (1st year course).  Most of the classes have a digital element using software of various  persuasions and the lesson plans must be  updated every 6 months to a year to keep up with changes in the industry. Just that alone can make a person insane! A seasoned teacher of Fine Art at the high school level gave me this advice: ” Don’t try to keep up with the software, you’ll never do it! Just structure your classes as a series of problems to be solved, the software being one of the tools used.” I knew this, I used it all the time when homeschooling, but somehow I did not transfer the technique directly to my digital classes. I gave out problem solving assignments, but still thought I had to be the software guru as well. The students expect it, but realistically they will not have access to me at home, or after graduation, so they might as well start solving these problems on their own, right now. Perhaps human nature can be compared to water, if not challenged, it will take the path of least resistance.

About art4life

I have a visual art practice and (way too) many ideas, thoughts and opinions I want to share. Thanks for listening.
This entry was posted in creative motivation, faith and spirituality, teaching and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to The Path of Least Resistance

  1. Sirdar says:

    You know…I would like to take some of your courses. I have an interest in multimedia and of course web design. Obviously not to the point I would like to switch careers but for general interest and then see what happens after that.

    The technique you speak of is a tied and true management technique. On of my leaders told me that one and explained how someone in our company doesn’t do that and she runs into time issues because she is solving everyones problems. He said that what she should be doing is prioritizing the problem to see if it really requires her immediate attention. If not, leave it a lone for a while until the person calls back. Most times the person has continued looking for the answer and has found the solution. Apparently she has done it and has been successful, but she still feels she needs to lead by solving everyones problems. Needless to say, she feels a tad stressed.

    So I guess what I am saying is that you are doing the right thing for your students by “forcing” them to come up with their own solutions because they won’t have you there solving them for you….much like what you tried to instill in your kids when homeschooling.

  2. Dawn says:

    Great post, and Sirdar had a great comment also. It also goes with parenting and home management. I am one who likes to have things just so and as I have matured, and having kids does that to some of us, I have learnt to delegate, and to allow others the ability to rely on their own abilities. It is sometimes tough as a parent and as a leader in any aspect of life, but it sure helps to not get bogged down in the issues of others.

  3. Dawn says:

    Hey, I linked you on my post today. Come see what one of your great ideas I shared with the world.

Leave a Reply

