Amazing

3 hole rock

I have been sick, a usual side effect for me when I travel. The aftermath is always a series of me resting and reorganizing my world. I think the reorganizing is as much mental as physical. Traveling changes my view of the world and it takes some time to digest it all and redraw those paradigms, those maps I previously had to describe the world. Alaska was a place desperate for tourist dollars. Each business, cruise, or little stand by the road pleaded with every passer-by to stop and drop some cash. The season is limited and locals struggles to make what they can before the flurry of outsiders head back home again. But outside of my cynical view, I also saw areas of vast wilderness. It sounds like a cliche, but there really is no other way to describe the space. This photo was taken on a glacier cruise of a place called ‘3 hole rock’. As the boat slowed in front of this view, everyone was silent. Even with the world of sat-tv, internet, and iphones, people can still be awestruck by nature. Amazing.

About art4life

I have a visual art practice and (way too) many ideas, thoughts and opinions I want to share. Thanks for listening.
This entry was posted in creative motivation, my opinions. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Amazing

  1. Dawn says:

    That does look beautiful. With the driving we did, I was struck by the vast untouched landscapes on our trip. We live in such a populated farming area, you have to go for hours to see such vast areas. It always surprises me because my world is where I live. I also find it interesting to see how others live. I love blogging for that reason too. Sounds like you had a great trip, I hope you are feeling better. I had some tired days upon our return, and it didn’t help to jump right into stuff when we got home. I have stuff about our trip on my blog and Sirdar has a link to our photos on his Blog. I will try to call soon.

  2. Sirdar says:

    Awesome picture. I would love to go to Alaska. Maybe I’ll have to try doing that before the kids move out.

Leave a Reply

