working from the inside out




This is a mixed media piece I’ve been working on, mostly pastel work. I love using the pastels because I can really lay it on thick then scrape off layers to reveal colour that is underneath. I like to work hard on my pieces and sometimes it looks great and other times it looks, well, overworked. Robert Murray who was one of the art mentors at Well’s artist’s retreat last year, after viewing some of my work, asked me if I was going to beat up my next art piece.

I guess I can be hard on the paper, if you look at the detailed photos of this work, it is scored fairly deep with lines, and words. I just like to work from the inside out, whatever is inside me works its way into my art, that includes scrapes and gouges. This piece is one I started with pencil sketches a while ago, I have a name for it, but I don’t think it clearly reflects the piece. What do you think I should call it?

About art4life

I have a visual art practice and (way too) many ideas, thoughts and opinions I want to share. Thanks for listening.
This entry was posted in creative motivation, faith and spirituality, my art and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to working from the inside out

  1. BWC says:

    I absolutely LOVE it!
    Keep posting!
    (That’s a lot of exclamation marks.)

Leave a Reply

