Time or Space?

“Man transcends space, and time transcends man… We all take part in a procession through its realm which never comes to an end but are unable to gain a foothold in it….Space is exposed to our will; we may shape and change the things in space as we please.” – quote from The Sabbath, Abraham Joshua Heschel.

I think it is because man has no foothold on time that he becomes obsessed with shaping and changing things from ‘time’ into ‘space’. When I create, I want to capture, preserve and shape a moment in time. By changing from time to space, I am able to do that. It is a similar desire when sports fans with a remote hit replay. Or when the 5 year old who loves the funny face you just made says, “do it again!” Or when we take photos. These are all ways in which we convert time into space. This has become a common exercise for people in the western world as they somehow have attached proof of their existence to things in space rather than ideas in time. My question then is, if time is eternal, and space is not, then shouldn’t we be leaving a legacy in time rather than space? Through my art, I can work out ideas about relationships, life, longevity, morals and values. Art can be a catalyst, the way to open the door to more meaningful thought, especially thought about what meaning our lives have when we can only hope to occupy space for 80 to 90 years. I like to think about converting my existence in space to existence in time through a relationship with the Creator of all. How about you?

About art4life

I have a visual art practice and (way too) many ideas, thoughts and opinions I want to share. Thanks for listening.
This entry was posted in faith and spirituality. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Time or Space?

  1. Sirdar says:

    I’m sure Dawn has discussed my thoughts on the Creator however I’m not sure about your comments on what time and space is. Changing things from time into space just doesn’t compute with me. We occupy space by being here for a certain amount of time. I don’t know what you mean by the sports fan and his remote or the funny face with the 5 year old being space. Are you saying that because we can see, feel, smell things at that time we are occupying space and that time would go on whether we occupied that space or not? Is that what you are getting at? What about memories? Is that not a snapshot of time? Granted as we get older those memories don’t become so vivid but hopefully they are still there to take us back in time. Perhaps if I had that same relationship with God I would understand better but since I don’t I can only look at it from what I would call a technical view. Not saying it is the right view but a view none the less.

  2. Bravus says:

    Hi Kim

    Lorne sent me over, and I’m glad he did!

    Not really a specific response to your post, which I enjoyed a lot, but:

    1. I definitely see my kids as my legacy in time. I’ve published one book, with more to come, and that will be around after I’m gone too, but my main extension into the future of the world is through my children, and making them healthy, happy people who will make the world a better place is the best legacy I can imagine.

    2. Going in a more physics-based direction, space-time can be regarded as a 4-dimensional continuum, where time is just another direction, and we all travel on our paths through the giant 4-dimensional donut! I liked your analogy about switching from space into time and vice versa, and maybe it’s as simple as a change of direction…

    3. Terry Pratchett’s trolls have the perfectly sensible belief that we travel backward through time – because we can see where we’ve been, but we can’t see where we’re going!

  3. Kim says:

    For Lorne @ Sirdar Inc:
    I think we would probably agree that time is dynamic, while space is static. Time being dynamic means that we as humans are unable to change time in anyway, we simply move along in this dimension which has a beginning and an end. Our bodies and minds are subject to the effects of time and therefore eventually breakdown and cease to exist. “If” we were able to exist outside of the effects of time, we would be *existing eternally*. We would have no beginning and no end. Here begins the concept of God. In order to even begin to discuss this concept, a person has to accept that there are truths outside of what we humans can see, touch, hear, feel. For example we cannot see the wind, but we know it exists because we can see the results of its work. The concept of God is so entirely huge that it goes FAR beyond what is taught and understood in Christianity today. If you are interested in this topic, check out this website to get and idea of the concept of God from a Hebrew point of view: Names of G-d. The Hebrew faith is the foundation from which Christianity was built and often people either don’t know it, or have forgotten. The result is that you end up with a kind-of *broken theology* where gaps of information are missing, which is not very convincing for those who are trying to evaluate to the idea.

Leave a Reply

